Tags

, , , , ,

I know they mean well, and what they say makes sense. At first glance anyway. If we are honest with ourselves, who wouldn’t want to be surrounded by beautiful, successful people that can catch you up in their surge of influence and all the power is just so appealing. It almost makes sense to just aim to be around those who make you happy-because who wants a Debby-Downer?- and around those that build you up-because who needs someone to speak humility into your life and keep you low?

Almost.

Until you look past what they are saying, through the smoke and mirrors and realizing it is a just a selfish venture.

It’s times like these I am almost thankful of my over-comparison and realizing that me and all those beautiful, powerful people? We just won’t jive because of my insecurities. My pride could almost get me there though.

Almost. Definitely has in the past.

And then you think of the words of Jesus, of the actions of Jesus and it doesn’t line up with what the do-gooders follow the feel-gooders are saying. What they are preaching from the pulpit and spreading on social media and what people are buying.

We all want to feel good. We all want people that build us up. We all want success.

But when I start feeling the best because of my own accord, start feeling like things are finally getting somewhere and I am getting my dues?

That’s the hardest fall, the biggest lump of pride to swallow.

I don’t need to follow myself or my best friend or successful men.

I need to follow Jesus.

Period.

I need other people in my life that are not going to help me build up a façade. I need people that are going to keep it real with me, that will see the clutter and mess of my house and soul and be okay with it. I need people that need me because it is the only way for me to see I need Jesus because they need that in me, not what I have to offer. That I need Jesus because I am utterly inept in all things.

Profoundly inept.

It’s not about the people you surround yourself with- although there is balance- but how you respond to the people you surround, the people you come into contact with every day. Jesus didn’t give a business plan or model of who we should aspire to be like- other than Him. He said to love one another, to love others as He loves us. He gave the example of servant-leadership, of the first shall be last, the weak shall shame the strong, the world upside-down according to our flawed view.

There’s nothing wrong with success. There’s nothing wrong with knowing and being around successful people. But it should not be our end game. It should not be about how much I can get out of the person I know, but how much I can give away. How much can I love?

How much can I serve?

Do I surround myself with people that could use a little more Jesus and a lot less “look at me and how cool I am, me me me, I am so perfect?”

To claim perfection is a bold lie that will always, always catch up to you. And it won’t take long either.

What if we spent more time giving away of our time and efforts and resources, without expecting anything in return, without strings attached or a “what’s in it for me?” attitude?

I think people would be a whole lot more open to hearing about Jesus. Probably because they would already see Him in us and not just another empty promise behind smoke and mirrors.

Success lies in how well we have served Him and followed Him, giving truth to others in love. If that is the success we seek, then we must get low, get humble, do everything backwards according to the world and realize our need for Jesus is the only thing that can make true success. We don’t need followers or to be followers. We need personal relationships with God and eternal life in the Savior. We need to be light in a dark world and hope to the hopeless, always pointing to Him. Success is in His glory.

Would financial stability and a platform be nice? Sure. Is it needed? No. Life is more adventurous anyway when you give it all away to the Maker of this world and ask Him to provide. And life is so worth living when it is about others and lifting them up in the hopes that they too will know God like you know Him.

