When you ask for something, you just might get it.

That’s what happened yesterday morning to me when I was taking my time with God and preparing for the day ahead of me. It would be the first day I would be away from little Haddie all day and in class again and talking with real people instead of communicating via internet about God and counseling and everything in between. My devotional consisted of asking God to show me, to open my eyes, to His simple graces and to reveal Himself to me in ways that I may have before missed because I was too busy to look.

So I faithfully did as the devotional suggested and wrote a simple prayer, asking to see.

We have all been told that nature reveals His glory.

I continued the day and began driving to school in the car that needs the radio reset and I lost the code so it is a silent ride unless you fill it yourself. So, I sang. And I prayed. And then I listened. And looked.

I passed trees shadowed in red from the rising sun, ablaze with crimson and He whispered, Like My Blood shed for you, staining another tree deep red that has run over across the generations.

I passed some cattle grazing in a sloping field and He whispered those Words, He owns the cattle of a thousand hills. (Psalm 50:10)

Even the dead grass –the dead, even the dead!- cried out Scripture in my head as He whispered deep in my heart, The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the Word of the Lord stands forever. (Isaiah 40:8)

The mountains approach closer, those large sentinels of majesty, and again, one last time, The earth is full of His glory! (Isaiah 6:3)

I just thanked Him and sat in silence, no need to fill it with song or prayer. Observance can be just as much of a form of worship when awe and reverence is involved.

The whole day was confirmation for me, confirmation of God’s glory, His goodness, His plans for me.

I laughed through the day, hearing God speak to me and saying, Well isn’t that a coincidence that she would say that or I would see that or I would meet that person?

But it is not coincidence, it’s God revealing Himself to me in ways I was often too busy to see.

When you ask, be ready to receive. When your heart is open, He is will fill it. Be ready to receive it.

